The Leash Concept: An Alternate Perspective

by Joshua Paul Greene

So, I was driving down Belmont Blvd today and saw a dog literally pull on the girl who was walking her so hard that she fell over (the girl, not the dog) and I had a strange realization: Maybe dogs have a totally different perspective about the leash concept…  Maybe they just view it as something that’s conveniently attached to their neck so that they can pull along the people who insist on walking with them?  They think to themselves, “geez, I wish this person would walk faster!  How convenient is it for me that they constantly hold on to this rope that’s right here by my face!  Stupid people, don’t they know that this is just making it easier to control them!?”

It was one of those changes-your-life moments that I won’t soon forget.

