Wondering…

by Joshua Paul Greene

I often wonder how I got here.  I try to put things together in a logical progression but it simply doesn’t work.  I mean, it makes perfect sense now that I am here, but my decisions, misfortunes, lucky stars and all the little coincidences that get me to where I am seem now to be so far past perfect that there’s no way they could have happened in real life.  It seems as though it’s impossible for me to fail, and yet I will, at some point, without a doubt.  I suppose I have, or rather, that I do fail every day, but it’s not the catastrophic failures that inspire epics and great symphonies but rather the menial and numerous failures that provide variation in one’s life.  Maybe it’s my successes that I need to focus on – try to learn from them as I have learned from my greatest failures.  It is a blessing beyond the shadow of a doubt that my successes far outweigh my failures at this point in my life.  Is it wrong to dig for my failures for the sake of furthering and deepening my level of perfection?  Can I really expect to learn everything I need to know from ignoring and discounting miniscule failures?  I certainly don’t think so…  I suppose the secret lies in not dwelling or wallowing in the failures but rather acknowledging them with a smile and a nod.  Perhaps that is where the truth will begin to grow.

